(GLENN, Ga.) Funeral services for Sarah S. Sheppard, 72, of Glenn, Ga., will be Friday, Aug. 9, 2019, at 1 p.m. CDT (2 p.m. EDT) at Paran Baptist Church with the Rev. Jamie Taylor officiating. Burial will follow in the adjoining cemetery.

The family will receive friends at the church beginning at 11 a.m. CDT (12 p.m. EDT) on Friday.

Mrs. Sheppard died Monday, Aug. 5, at WellStar West Georgia Medical Center.

A lifelong resident of Glenn, Mrs. Sheppard was born Aug. 7, 1946, the daughter of Otis William and Sara Crouch Starnes. She was a member of Paran Baptist Church and had worked as a lunchroom manager.

She is survived by her husband, Ted Sheppard of Glenn; three sons, Joel Terry Sheppard and William Scott Sheppard, both of Glenn, and Jeffrey Allen Sheppard (wife, Amy) of Hogansville, Ga.; four grandchildren, Lamar Sheppard, Jeffrey Sheppard, Amber Sheppard and Danielle Waldroup; 12 great-grandchildren; brother, Benjamin Clark Starnes (wife, Juanita) of Glenn; and several nieces and nephews. She was preceded in death by her parents; and three brothers, Dallas David Starnes, James Joseph Starnes and John William Starnes.

Pallbearers will be Chucky Barrett, Jeffrey Sheppard, Lamar Sheppard, Andrew Waters, Benjamin Starnes and James Starnes. Honorary pallbearers will be John Christopher Starnes and John Craig Starnes.

Memorials may be floral, or the family requests contributions to Paran Baptist Church Cemetery Fund, 70234 Hwy. 22, Roanoke, AL 36274. Online condolences may be expressed at www.quattlebaumfuneralhome.com.

Quattlebaum Funeral Home, Roanoke.