The new city council and mayor of Roanoke were sworn in at an organizational meeting Monday in a brief but well-attended inaugural meeting.

New Mayor Jill Hicks took the oath of office first, followed by Councilmembers Tammi Holley, Kesa Johnston, Mike Parmer, Bronwyn Bishop and John Frank Houston.

Johnston and Houston are newly-elected members, while Holley, Parmer and Bishop are holdovers from the previous council.

The organizational meeting also established how future meetings will be conducted. The council passed the ordinance that set forth those rules. The only notable change from previous councils will be that the council meetings will take place on the first and third Mondays of each month rather than the second and fourth Mondays.

The council is also responsible for appointing officials for six municipal positions - city clerk, municipal judge, municipal prosecutor, city attorney, police chief and fire chief - at the beginning of each new four-year term.

The council introduced the resolutions for those appointments, but will not vote on who those appointments will be until the next meeting, which is scheduled for Nov. 16.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.