Skip to content

Roanoke board approves personnel actions

With the start of school for the new year just days, Roanoke City Board of Education met last week to fill vacancies in their staff.

The board approved the following actions on recommendations from Superintendent Greg Foster.

Taylor Bowen as 4th grade Science Teacher at Handley Middle School.

Deavin Foreman as Physical Education Aide at Handley Middle School.

Hillary Sewell as Special Education Aide at Handley Middle School.

Shannon Smith as Special Education Teacher at Knight Enloe Elementary.

Kaycee Dukus as Special Education Teacher at Knight Enloe Elementary.

Xavier Calloway as Physical Education Teacher at Handley High School.

Transfer Beth Justice from 4th grade Science at Handley Middle School to 6th grade

Language Arts at Handley Middle School.

Transfer Tamela Adams from Secretary/Bookkeeper at Handley Middle School to

Assistant to the Chief Financial Officer at Roanoke City Schools Board of Education.

KES Extended Day Donna Nolan and Janna Wigley

HMS Encore: Chanta Brown, April Heard, Katelyn Murphy-Hale and Haylee Moody

Roanoke City Schools personnel and/or approved substitute teachers will be used for the programs on an as-needed basis.

For the 2023-2024 school year, the employees listed will be employed as needed. In order for each of these programs to be self-sustaining, the number of employees working and the number of hours they work will depend upon the number of students enrolled in the programs. Certified personnel will receive $17 per hour and non-certified personnel will receive $13 per hour.

Paying Mentor Teachers a stipend of $1,000 for providing

support for new to the profession first or second year teachers. Payable in

two installments of $500. One in December and one in May.

New Teacher Mentors attending New Teacher Orientation July 25, 2023 will be paid a stipend of $50.

Recommendation to pay special education teachers $25 per hour, not to exceed $150, for one day of professional learning at Knight Enloe. The funding will come from special education funds.

For vertical team planning, pay Crystal Baldwin, Mandy Bonner, Leslie Gibbs, Lakeisha Hooks, Jesse Horn, Kimberly Jones, Nate Jones, Jennifer Kirby, Meredith Sears, Heather Starley, Susan Storey and Elisha Williams at the rate of $25 per hour for up to two hours each to provide assistance with the facilitation of vertical team planning for the 2023-24 school year. Funding will come from ARP ESSER funds.

Change the current extended-year contract of Shannan Platzek. She was previously approved for up to $500. The amount is being increased to $1,000 due to the number of Preschool referrals that there are. The funding will come from IDEA-B and IDEA-Preschool.

Approved Debra Gortney, Kassie Johnson and Kacey Shelnutt as substitute teachers.

Approved Deborah Houston, Jane Overton and Debra Gortney as cafeteria substitutes.

In other business, the board:

Approved Salary Schedules for 2023-2024 school year.

Approve Supplements

Approve Student Codes of Conduct

Approve System Travel Meal Reimbursement

Leave a Comment