Skip to content

County schools, board honor Teachers of the Year

It was a festive meeting of Randolph County School Board last week as teachers and board members were honored. The annual Teacher of the Year Awards were presented to a teacher from each school in the county. The teachers honored with the awards included: Nancy Moore, Rock Mills; Shannon Clark, Wadley; Simone Briskey, Wedowee Elementary; Dawn Hall, Wedowee Middle; Stephanie Hill, Woodland Elementary; Charles Wood, Woodland High School; Jennifer Robertson, Randolph County High and Gary Wortham, vocational school. In addition, Jennifer Robertson was named the Teacher of the Year for the entire county.

Members of the school board were presented gifts from the schools in celebration of School Board Appreciation Month.

In personnel actions, the board:

  • Approved the contract with Mike Taylor to provide baseball coaching services for Wadley High School.
  • Approved the request for FMLA leave for Amy Mitchell from December 14, 2022 through January 25, 2023.
  • Approved Cailin Birdsong and Sarah Renard as substitute teachers.
  • Approved Cailin Birdsong and Curtis Barber as support personnel.
  • Approved Brittany Johnson as substitute bus driver retroactive to December 16, 2022.

In other business, the board:

Approved an out of state trip for 15 Woodland Cheerleaders to Orlando, FL for National Cheer Competition on February 9-14, 2023 with Brittney Kennedy and Kristy Nelson. The group will use money from the cheer fund and charter a bus.

Pictured from left, are Jennifer Robertson (RCHS) and Randolph County Teacher of the Year, Superintendent John Jacobs, Gary Wortham (RRCTC), Shannon Clark (Wadley), Charles Wood (Woodland High), Nancy Moore (Rock Mills), Simone Briskey (WES), Dawn Hall (WMS), and Stephanie Hill (Woodland Elementary).

Leave a Comment